The Cellular Therapy Coding and Labeling Advisory Group (CTCLAG) was established in 2004. Its purpose is to advise ICCBBA of the needs of cellular therapy organizations for coding and labeling. Membership comprises representatives from major cellular therapy professional organizations: AABB, APBMT, ASBMT, ASFA, EBMT, FACT, ISBT, ISCT, JACIE, NMDP and WMDA. Additionally, the group has invited technical experts to serve as voting members on the group.

Liaisons from other organizations, primarily representing regulatory bodies, also attend meetings. 

Vendors and other interested parties attend meetings as observers at the discretion of the chairperson.

CTCLAG Joint Statement - PDF

Summary of Recent Activity

A document for selecting the appropriate product description codes is currently in the works and is anticipated to be published in a peer-reviewed journal.

The new proposal, 16-003: ISBT 128 as a Coding System for Medical Products of Human Origin with Nonproprietary Names, was recently submitted to accommodate products that use INN and USAN naming.

An audit tool for ISBT 128 compliance in cellular therapy facilities is currently being developed.

CTCLAG has also discussed new and updated terminology regarding recent requests.

CTCLAG Member List

Representatives and Technical Experts

  • Szczepiorkowski, Zbigniew – Chair
  • Allman, Sallie
  • Calmels, Boris
  • Cameron, Giovanna
  • De Simone, Pablo
  • Janssen, William
  • Koh, Mickey
  • Larsson, Stella
  • Loper, Kathy
  • Miller, John
  • Poston, Leigh Sims
  • Querol, Sergio
  • Stec, Terri
  • Thijssen-Timmer, Daphne
  • Warkentin, Phyllis


  • Agbanyo, Francisca
  • Hansson, Mona 
  • Karandish, Safa


  • Browne, Geoff
  • Celluzi, Christina
  • Cetinkaya, Sukru
  • Chahal, Amar
  • Costello, Tim
  • Csore, Miklos
  • Dragoo, Jeff
  • Geary, Josh
  • Gerhard, Kevin
  • Gorowsky, John
  • Herzberg, Mark
  • Hoppe, Ann
  • Ketari, Kamel
  • Kingsbury, Tracy
  • Kirimli, Kent
  • Kirkpatrick, Brian
  • Kling, John
  • Kriozere, Richard
  • Kriozere, Jeff
  • Mateus, Osmar
  • Mendes, Patrick
  • Miller, Creighton
  • Niston, Peggy
  • Pereda, Pedro
  • Steiner, David
  • Uhrynowska-Tyszkiewicz, Izabela
  • Waurzyniak, Daniel
  • Weaver, Renae
  • Wiler, Merilyn
  • Wojcicki, Tomasz
  • Wray, Bruce


[Back to Top ↑]