The Regenerative Medicine Technical Advisory Group (RMTAG) is chartered with developing nomenclature in areas of tissue engineering, regenerative medicine and those products that fall between the tissue and cellular therapy areas. The work the group does ties in with the 2010 World Health Assembly Resolution WHA63.22, which urges member states to “encourage the implementation of globally consistent coding systems for human cells, tissues, and organs as such in order to facilitate national and international traceability of material of human origin for transplantation”.

The goal of RMTAG is to develop terminology that meets the needs in a way that is acceptable internationally. The group will work alongside other ICCBBA TAGs with the aim of developing terminology for all MPHO. The group consists of a core membership comprised of chairs and experts from the international tissue and cellular therapy Technical Advisory Groups, along with ICCBBA staff members. Technical experts in a given area will be called upon to provide their knowledge and expertise when needed.

Summary of Recent Activity

RMTAG is currently discussing new terminology for regenerated tissue products. The proposed terminology will be distributed to ICCBBA TAGs and various groups of experts (AABB, FDA, EATB, European Commission, AATB, and more) for feedback.

The group also discussed the coding of INN and USAN terminology in the ISBT 128 Database to bring harmonization between the product naming. It was decided that INN and USAN will be encoded in the ISBT 128 Database under a new Product Category – the name of this new category is still under discussion.

RMTAG Member List

Representatives and Technical Experts

  • Slaper-Cortenbach, Ineke – Chair
  • Allickson, Julie
  • Galipeau, Jacques
  • Hildebrandt, Martin
  • Jones, Alyce
  • Koh, Mickey
  • Maréchal, Marina
  • Poston, Leigh Sims
  • Szczepiorkowski, Zbigniew
  • Uhrynowska-Tyszkiewicz, Izabela
  • Wilson, Diane


  • Agbanyo, Francisca


  • Alves, Jorge
  • Bratek, Piotr
  • Cetinkaya, Sukru
  • Glinkowski, Clement
  • Oliveira, Teresa
  • Steiner, David
  • Wojcicki, Tomasz


[Back to Top ↑]